Carolina Panthers running back Christian McCaffrey, Atlanta Falcons owner Arthur Blank are among the nominees for the NFL Salute to Service award.

November 8, 2021

Coaches Ron Rivera and Sean McDermott, featured players Christian McCaffrey, George Kittle and Demario Davis, team owner Arthur Blank, and Houston Texans cheerleaders are among 31-team nominees for the NFL Salute to Service Award. .

The award, presented by USAA and the league, recognizes players, coaches, staff, and alumni who demonstrate a strong commitment to honoring and supporting the military and veteran communities. Every NFL club nominates someone, although the Cincinnati Bengals did not have a nominee this year.

The finalists will be announced in January, and the recipient will be recognized at NFL Honors, the televised awards show during Super Bowl week in which the season’s individual award winners are revealed by The Associated Press. Last year’s winner was Steve Cannon, CEO of the Atlanta Falcons’ parent company, AMB Sports and Entertainment. Cannon will be part of the awards panel.

“Now more than ever, it is essential that our nation come together to support and show appreciation for the Americans who are and have served our country, as well as their families,” said (retired) Vice Admiral John Bird, senior vice president of USAA President of Military Affairs. “This year’s nominees for the Salute to Service Award presented by USAA deserve special recognition for taking a step forward to support our military community, and we are encouraged to see this list of diverse nominees from all areas of the organization. the NFL. “

USAA, which provides insurance and other financial services to the US military, veterans and their families, will contribute $ 25,000 on behalf of the recipient to official aid societies representing all branches of the US military. The NFL will match that contribution by donating $ 25,000 to the military or veterans charity of the awardee’s choice.

Also nominated:

ARIZONA CARDINALS: Teresa Miller, (Director, Financial Planning and Analysis)

BALTIMORE RAVENS: Jarret Johnson (former player)

CHICAGO BEARS: Jimmy Graham (tight end)

CLEVELAND BROWNS: Baker Mayfield (quarterback)

DALLAS COWBOYS: Charlotte Jones (Executive Vice President, Chief Brand Officer)

DENVER BRONCOS: Andrew Beck (tight end)

DETROIT LIONS: Maurice Pearson (Player and Alumni Relations Manager)

GREEN BAY PACKERS: Chris Gizzi (strength and conditioning coach)

INDIANAPOLIS COLTS: Brian Decker (Director of Player Development)

JACKSONVILLE JAGUARS: Myles Jack (linebacker)

KANSAS CITY CHIEFS: Bobby Bell (former player, inducted into the Professional Football Hall of Fame)

LAS VEGAS RAIDERS: Vance Mueller (offensive tackle)

LOS ANGELES CHARGERS: Joe Lombardi (offensive coordinator)

LOS ANGELES RAMS: Andrew Whitworth (offensive tackle)

MIAMI DOLPHINS: Blake Ferguson (long snapper)

MINNESOTA VIKINGS Pete Bercich (former player)

NEW ENGLAND PATRIOTS: Joe Cardona (long snapper)

NEW YORK GIANTS Emlen Tunnell (former player and Hall of Famer of professional football)

NEW YORK JETS: Harrison Berstein (Staff Alumni)

PHILADELPHIA EAGLES: Chris Sharkoski (Director of Event Operations)

PITTSBURGH STEELERS: Jon Kolb (former player)

SEATTLE SEAHAWKS: Nino Gray (Community Engagement Manager)

TAMPA BAY BUCCANEERS: Ryan Jensen (center)

TENNESSEE TITANS: John Williams (Stadium Operations Director)