Baseball Hall of Fame: David Ortiz elected as Bonds, Clemens fall short

January 25, 2022

A year after the BBWA did not elect a single player into the Baseball Hall of Fame, the 2022 vote resulted in just one name heading to Cooperstown: David Ortiz.

Ortiz received 77.9% of the vote from the 394 ballots cast in what was his first year of eligibility. In their 10th and final years on the writers’ ballot, Barry Bonds, Roger Clemens, Curt Schilling and Sammy Sosa did not receive enough votes.

That quartet could have another chance at getting elected by the 16-member Today’s Game Era Committee, which will vote in December. Only 10 candidates are allowed on the ballot, with 12 votes necessary for induction.

Ortiz joins Edgar Martínez, Harold Baines, Frank Thomas and Paul Molitor as players to be elected to the Hall of Fame while primarily serving as a designated hitter. Ortiz spent his first six big-league seasons with the Twins before blossoming after joining the Red Sox, emerging as one of the most feared hitters of his generation.