COVID-19 traffic light in Mexico: CDMX will remain yellow, 15 states orange and 4 green

February 5, 2022

(Screenshot: SSA)

The Ministry of Health (SSa) updated this Friday the third Epidemiological Stoplight of coronavirus (COVID-19) of 2022, which will be in force from February 7 to 20.

Through the official page, the Government of Mexico indicated that the country will be colored as follows:

The good news is that in Red color” (maximum risk of contagion) there will be no state, after Aguascalientes was able to improve its situation. It is worth mentioning that it was the only state that fell to that level after almost five months.

while in color Orange or “high risk” there will be 15 entities, six more than two weeks ago: Baja California, Sonora, Chihuahua, Coahuila, Nuevo León, Tamaulipas, Sinaloa, Durango, Zacatecas, San Luis Potosí, Nayarit, Jalisco, Colima, Aguascalientes and Querétaro.

The former is an effect of the “fourth wave” of contagions that brought with it the variant Omicron at the beginning of the year.

In turn, in yellow (moderate risk) there will be 13 states, three more than in the last report: Baja California Sur, Guanajuato, Michoacán, State of Mexico, Mexico City, Morelos, Hidalgo, Puebla, Guerrero, Oaxaca, Tabasco, Yucatán and Quintana Roo.

Mexico City will remain in yellow along with 12 other entities, while 15 states will remain in orange, four in green and none in red.

*Developing information